Dwight Yorke

Dwight Yorke, Football speaker


Nicknamed ‘The Smiling Assassin’ Dwight was born in Trinidad and Tobago, and went on to become one of the Premier Leagues great characters. He famously won the 1999 Champions League and three successive Premiership titles in a four-year spell at Manchester United.

Dwight was first selected to play for the Trinidad and Tobago national side in 1989, and was captain of the team in the 2006 World Cup Finals in Germany, in total he gained around 70 caps scoring over 20 goals.

His professional career began with Aston Villa in 1989 and he was a part of the team that clinched the League Cup in 1994 and 1996. During his 9 year tenure with the Villa, he made 231 appearances and scored 97 goals. He played a crucial role as a striker for Aston Villa and emerged as the club’s top-scorer (1994-95, 1995-96, and 1996-97). He also won the Player of the Year award for the 1996-97 season.

Dwight then signed for Manchester United for a fee of £12.6 million in August 1998. He played a pivotal role and emerged as the top league goal scorer for the 1998-1999 season. During his time at Old Trafford, as well as winning the consecutive Premier League titles and Champions League, he also lifted the FA Cup, the Intercontinental Cup and was a UEFA Super Cup runner-up title in 1999.

He moved onto Blackburn Rovers in 2002 for a fee of £2 million and was the top-scorer for the season, before switching to Birmingham City in 2004, where scoring on his debut made him an instant favourite among the club’s fans. He was then signed by Sydney FC in 2005 where he was made captain. He led the team to victory in the inaugural A-League Grand Final match versus Central Coast Mariners in March 2006 with a Man of The Match performance. Dwight’s image and name were used by the Football Federations Australia (FFA) to promote the A-League’s second season.

In August 2006, Dwight signed for Sunderland for £200,000, and was part of the side that lifted the Football League Championship in the 2006-07 season.

Dwight has many awards and recognitions to his credit including, the Trinidad & Tobago Footballer of the Year (2005, 2006), the Tobago House of Assembly Chief Secretary’s Award (2005), the Trinidad & Tobago Olympic Committee Sports Personality of the Year (1998) and Humming Bird Medal Silver (1993). He also won the English Premier League Golden Boot Award for scoring 18 goals in the 1998-99 season.

The Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago, was named in his honour, and he was made a Sports Ambassador for his country, owing to his great display in the 2006 Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) World Cup. Apart from playing football, Dwight has a great passion for cricket.



Ex Manchester United Football Speaker Dwight Yorke is available as:- 

After Dinner Speaker for an event,

Football speaker for a sportsman's dinner

Speaker for a Golf Day

Guest speakers for hire

Ex Footballers After Dinner Speakers

Top Table Speaker

To book, Ex Manchester United football speaker, Dwight Yorke for an event or conference or hire an after dinner speaker with Laughter UK Call 01524 733310 or contact us online.

If you would like to Book a Guest speaker, for an event give us a call


Football Speakers for Hire in the UK and Europe

Laughter UK provide Football Speakers for a wide variety of events such as, corporate events, sportsmans dinners, golf days, awards ceremonies, comedy and curry nights, theatre shows, pub & club entertainment, and many many more. We cover all areas of the UK including Lancashire and Cumbriain the North West of England. Laughter UK will be able to help you make the best choice of Football Speaker for your event. Our Football Speakers include the above personalities. Click on a link to view more information about any of our Football Speakers.

Frank McClintock
John McGovern
Wilf McGuinness
Duncan McKenzie
Frank McAvennie
Paul Merson
Jan Molby
Alan Mullery
Martin Peters
Graham Poll
Mickey Quinn
Kevin Ratcliffe
Lee Sharpe
Neil Ruddock
Joe Royle
Ian St John
Peter Shilton
John Sillett
Tommy Smith
Nobby Stiles
Mike Summerbee
Phil Stant
Alex Stepney
Dean Saunders
Dave Watson
John Barnes
Kenny Burns
Steve Daley
Tony Cottee
Pat Crerand
Tommy Docherty
Fred Eyre
David Fairclough
Paul Fletcher
Barry Fry
Tony Gale
Dermot Gallagher
Jimmy Greaves
Bruce Grobbelaar
Mark Halsey
Dieter Hamann
“Chopper” Harris
Roger Hunt
Sir Geoff Hurst
Norman Hunter
David Johnson
Joey Jones
Alan Kennedy
Kevin Keegan
Steve Kindon
Denis Law
Ray Wilkins
Robbie Fowler
Steve Claridge
John Aldridge
Arthur Albiston
Clive Allen
Ron Atkinson
Viv Anderson
Gordon Banks
John Barnes
Dave Bassett
Peter Beardsley
John Beresford
Bob “The Cat” Bevan
Peter Bonetti
Sir Trevor Brooking
Craig Brown
Steve Bruce
Kenny Burns
Mark Bright
Steve Bull
Sir Bobby Charlton
Jack Charlton
Alan Clarke
Ray Clemence
George Cohen
Stuart Pearce

Get in touch with Laughter UK

Call 01524 733310
or email us today